Go Ahead, Cheat on Your Book (Book Riot)

books-1245690_640

Book Riot recently put together this video on “book polygamy,” a.k.a. reading more than one book simultaneously. Based on their advice, you can tackle as many as four books at a time by varying your method of approach:

  • one “primary” book that you read day-to-day in your spare time
  • one audiobook
  • one book on your smartphone to read when you’ve forgotten your novel/e-reader, and
  • one book on your nightstand to read before bed.

With this system in mind, One Hundred Years of Solitude is currently my One Book to Rule Them All, Veronica Mars: The Thousand Dollar Tan Line is my audiobook, Hamlet is my smartphone read, and Winnie-the-Pooh is my bedtime story. So far, though, I haven’t started Hamlet, because:

  1. I have my priorities straight, meaning I always remember to bring a book everywhere I go, and
  2. no one ever calls me, so I routinely ignore my phone for days at a time… only to find it, dead, at the bottom of my purse, covered in gum wrappers.

But Book Riot’s book polygamy strategy may be right for you. Check out the video to find out.

Happy reading!