It’s a Quote Party and You’re All Invited

We talk a lot about the classics around here, but I think we can all agree that a break from the classics is sometimes often welcome necessary. Since great writing can be found everywhere, in every genre, on every subject, let’s spend a little time at the other end of the bookshelf.

Here’s a handful of my favorite quotes from non-classic books:

Only once. It was a doozy.

–Marc Mondfrans, Six-Word Memoirs on Love & Heartbreak

Caz and I have maracas. We are shaking them in a manner that can only be described as ‘sarcastic percussion.’

–Caitlin Moran, How to Be a Woman

It is an important and popular fact that things are not always what they seem. For instance, on the planet Earth, man had always assumed that he was more intelligent than dolphins because he had achieved so much—the wheel, New York, wars and so on—while all the dolphins had ever done was muck about in the water having a good time. But conversely, the dolphins had always believed that they were far more intelligent than man—for precisely the same reasons.

–Douglas Adams, The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy

I want to tell you again, I love you. Our love has been the thread through the labyrinth, the net under the high-wire walker, the only real thing in this strange life of mine that I could ever trust.

–Audrey Niffenegger, The Time Traveler’s Wife

Perhaps it’s my natural pessimism, but it seems that an awfully large part of travel these days is to see things while you still can.

–Bill Bryson, In a Sunburned Country

It was only Harris’s third worst hat.

–Mhairi McFarlane, Here’s Looking At You

You can’t pick your family, they say, but I would pick them.

–Ann Brashares, The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants

Don’t look at your feet to see if you are doing it right. Just dance.

–Anne Lamott, Bird by Bird

Please shut up. I am very busy and important.

–Helen Fielding, Bridget Jones’s Diary

“I don’t feel very much like Pooh today,” said Pooh.
“There there,” said Piglet. “I’ll bring you tea and honey until you do.”

–A. A. Milne, Winnie-the-Pooh

I am no longer afraid of getting old. Indeed I can’t believe I ever said anything so stupid. So childish. So offensive and arrogant. But mainly, so very, very stupid. I desperately want to grow old.

–Elizabeth Wein, Code Name Verity

And now, Harry, let us step out into the night and pursue that flighty temptress, adventure.

–J. K. Rowling, Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince

7 thoughts on “It’s a Quote Party and You’re All Invited

  1. I love collecting quotes to
    my favourite from yours;
    “You can’t pick your family, they say, but I would pick them.”
    –Ann Brashares, The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants-

Leave a Reply

