When Should I Start Worrying About My Pride & Prejudice Obsession?

Guys, I have a sort-of-awkward question to ask you.

Since the start of the New Year, I have consumed over a dozen Pride and Prejudice adaptations, with no signs of slowing down. In addition to listening to the original text on audiobook (beautifully performed by Rosamund Pike), as well as Bridget Jones’s Diary, I’ve watched:

  • the 1995 BBC miniseries,
  • the 2005 Keira Knightley version,
  • (twice),
  • The Lizzie Bennet Diaries,
  • Austenland,
  • The Jane Austen Book Club, and
  • Pride and Prejudice and Zombies.

I’ve also read:

  • Eligible, last year’s atrocious modern retelling,
  • Epic Fail, another lousy adaptation set in a Los Angeles high school,
  • Austenland (the book), and
  • The Jane Austen Book Club (ditto).

Oh, and I bought myself these adorable post-its.

I can’t decide if there’s something deeply wrong with me, or if this is the best use I’ve ever made of my free time. It seems impossible, even to me, that I have not yet tired of this story and these characters—despite the occasional unfortunate rendering. But there’s no such thing as a healthy addiction, even to Jane Austen… and the rest of my TBR is growing resentful.

So, inevitably, my question is this: When should I start worrying? Where is the line between everyday-fan-of-a-beloved-classic and devout-disciple-of-a-new-religion? Is it when I begin referring to my husband as “Mr. Darcy” and asking him to call me “Miss Elizabeth”? Is it when I stop leaving my house? Is it when I start acting out scenes from the book with my Pride and Prejudice post-its?

Because, you know, I’d like to be on the lookout. The moment cannot be long in coming at this point.

P.S. If you have any recommendations for P&P adaptations not listed here, please send them my way. Thank you in advance.

6 thoughts on “When Should I Start Worrying About My Pride & Prejudice Obsession?

  1. Can I safely assume you’ve read her other novels? Maybe a good, gritty novel would help. How about something Steinbeck like East of Eden (only one of the greatest works of all time)? That might help bring balance. Oh, no, you know what. You should go visit Pemberley. That’d cure you.

    • Yes, I’ve read the rest, but it’s been a while. I did read Lady Susan for the first time last year, though, before watching “Love and Friendship.” (Great movie, by the way, if you haven’t gotten to it yet.)

      I happen to loathe Steinbeck, but I like your idea of digging into something gritty. If I still haven’t reached the point of P&P overload soon, I’ll just have to substitute some sort of page-turner that will keep my brain occupied/distracted for a while. Maybe a murder mystery?

      • Haha! Don’t bother — at least, not on my account. I haven’t read East of Eden, but I did give Steinbeck three separate opportunities to wow me (The Red Pony, Of Mice and Men, and The Grapes of Wrath). His style is just SO dry! I can’t throw myself into his books the way I can with others.

Leave a Reply

