An Introduction to The 100 Greatest Books Challenge: The What, Why, and How

In mid-2011, I finished a wildly fascinating and completely useless Master’s degree in Applied Linguistics.

You’d think job searching and student loans would be the most stressful part of the months that followed, but they weren’t. For the first time in my life, I had exactly zero reading assignments cluttering my desk—no textbooks, no fiction, no poetry, no JSTOR articles. It felt freeing, and exhilarating, and deeply unsettling, all at once.

I had no idea where to begin—couldn’t even remember how—to select a book to read, out of ALL THE BOOKS EVER. There were so many. TOO many. And, in some weird conspiracy against my sanity, there were new ones being published EVERY DAY.

So I gave myself a reading assignment.

I found a list of classic novels at thegreatestbooks.org and pounced on it, thinking it would give me the opportunity to catch up on all the popular authors and cultural references that had fallen between the cracks of my studies. It lists The 100 Greatest Books of All Time, from Don Quixote to Midnight’s Children.

Many of these lists exist. The Observer, the Modern Library, the BBC, and TIME magazine have all published similar lists. I’m not even sure why I picked this one in the first place; if I’d looked at it any closer, I would have noticed four (four!) of Faulkner’s novels in prominent positions and deleted the site from my Google history.

But maybe Faulkner is an acquired taste, like coffee, and maybe I will learn to love him, unlike coffee. We shall see.

Faulkner aside, this list suits my project well: It was compiled based on 43 “Best Books of All Time” lists from around the internet and designed to allow readers to tick books off as they finish them. My goal, of course, is to read all 100, as eventually as it takes. This will be a space for me to share notes, reviews, recommendations, and cautionary tales for anyone interested in following me on my bittersweet journey from one end of my bookshelf to the other.

Will I love them all? No. If anything, I’m guessing a few of them could stand to be taken down a peg and I’m happy to help.

On the other hand, I’ve always suspected that reading the classics is a lot more fun when we choose to read them, with no quizzes or essays or book reports in sight.

With this in mind, the rules of The Challenge are as follows:

  1. I must read all 100 books on The List in their entirety (duh).
  2. I must read all volumes of each work, if the author considered them to be a single book. (This, unfortunately, is the case for The Lord of the Rings—Tolkien, three volumes—and In Search of Lost Time—Proust, six freaking volumes.)
  3. I don’t have to reread any books I’ve read before. (Before beginning this List, I had only read 16/100 in full, despite majoring in World Literature as an undergrad. In all fairness to the American education system, however, I’ve read a handful of those 16 books multiple times, and several other books by the same authors. And I’ve read excerpts from another 18 books on The List. TBH, though, this rule is mainly my way of avoiding another slog through The Grapes of Wrath. Once was plenty, thanks.)
  4. If I can’t remember whether I’ve already read one of the books on The List in full (which happens to be the case for The Odyssey and The Wind in the Willows), I have to (re)read them.
  5. I can read the books in whatever order and format I wish, read multiple books at once, and take as long as I damn well please to read them all.
  6. I have to read the French books in French. But for any other books originally written in a foreign language, I can choose any suitable translation.

*SPOILERS* abound among these posts, so be warned. Frankly, if you’re still wondering what happened to Moby Dick 150 years later, that’s kind of on you.

Here we go, in order of greatness: The 100 Greatest Books of All Time.

  1. Don Quixote, Miguel de Cervantes
  2. Ulysses, James Joyce
  3. Lolita, Vladimir Nabokov
  4. The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn, Mark Twain
  5. The Great Gatsby, F. Scott Fitzgerald
  6. 1984, George Orwell
  7. War and Peace, Leo Tolstoy
  8. In Search of Lost Time, Marcel Proust
  9. Anna Karenina, Leo Tolstoy
  10. Madame Bovary, Gustave Flaubert
  11. The Brothers Karamazov, Fyodor Dostoyevsky
  12. Middlemarch, George Eliot
  13. One Hundred Years of Solitude, Gabriel García Márquez
  14. The Sound and the Fury, William Faulkner
  15. Invisible Man, Ralph Ellison
  16. The Catcher in the Rye, J. D. Salinger
  17. To the Lighthouse, Virginia Woolf
  18. On the Road, Jack Kerouac
  19. Gulliver’s Travels, Jonathan Swift
  20. The Grapes of Wrath, John Steinbeck
  21. Moby Dick, Herman Melville
  22. Beloved, Toni Morrison
  23. The Portrait of a Lady, Henry James
  24. The Iliad, Homer
  25. Absalom, Absalom!, William Faulkner
  26. A Passage to India, E.M. Forster
  27. Native Son, Richard Wright
  28. Mrs. Dalloway, Virginia Woolf
  29. The Odyssey, Homer
  30. Catch-22, Joseph Heller
  31. A Portrait of the Artist as a Young Man, James Joyce
  32. Pride and Prejudice, Jane Austen
  33. The Trial, Franz Kafka
  34. As I Lay Dying, William Faulkner
  35. Brave New World, Aldous Huxley
  36. Emma, Jane Austen
  37. Nostromo, Joseph Conrad
  38. Things Fall Apart, Chinua Achebe
  39. To Kill a Mockingbird, Harper Lee
  40. Heart of Darkness, Joseph Conrad
  41. The Lord of the Rings, J. R. R. Tolkien
  42. Jane Eyre, Charlotte Brontë
  43. The Divine Comedy, Dante Alighieri
  44. Wuthering Heights, Emily Brontë
  45. Lord of the Flies, William Golding
  46. All the King’s Men, Robert Penn Warren
  47. Gone with the Wind, Margaret Mitchell
  48. The Age of Innocence, Edith Wharton
  49. The Aeneid, Virgil
  50. Tom Jones, Henry Fielding
  51. The Tin Drum, Günter Grass
  52. Vanity Fair, William Makepeace Thackeray
  53. The Call of the Wild, Jack London
  54. The Good Soldier, Ford Madox Ford
  55. Malone Dies, Samuel Beckett
  56. Animal Farm, George Orwell
  57. Frankenstein, Mary Shelley
  58. Oedipus the King, Sophocles
  59. Gargantua and Pantagruel, François Rabelais
  60. U.S.A., John Dos Passos
  61. The Tale of Genji, Murasaki Shikibu
  62. Tristram Shandy, Laurence Sterne
  63. An American Tragedy, Theodore Dreiser
  64. Their Eyes Were Watching God, Zora Neale Hurston
  65. The Canterbury Tales, Geoffrey Chaucer
  66. Clarissa, Samuel Richardson
  67. Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland, Lewis Carroll
  68. The Sun Also Rises, Ernest Hemingway
  69. The Woman in White, Wilkie Collins
  70. Robinson Crusoe, Daniel Defoe
  71. Slaughterhouse-Five, Kurt Vonnegut
  72. Sons and Lovers, D. H. Lawrence
  73. Finnegans Wake, James Joyce
  74. Crime and Punishment, Fyodor Dostoyevsky
  75. Brideshead Revisited, Evelyn Waugh
  76. The Wind in the Willows, Kenneth Grahame
  77. Women in Love, D. H. Lawrence
  78. The Magic Mountain, Thomas Mann
  79. Charlotte’s Web, E. B. White
  80. Under the Volcano, Malcolm Lowry
  81. Pilgrim’s Progress, John Bunyan
  82. The Scarlet Letter, Nathaniel Hawthorne
  83. Hamlet, William Shakespeare
  84. A Farewell to Arms, Ernest Hemingway
  85. The Golden Notebook, Doris Lessing
  86. Light in August, William Faulkner
  87. Rabbit, Run, John Updike
  88. The Stranger, Albert Camus
  89. Herzog, Saul Bellow
  90. Go Tell It on the Mountain, James Baldwin
  91. The Awakening, Kate Chopin
  92. A Clockwork Orange, Anthony Burgess
  93. Song of Solomon, Toni Morrison
  94. Faust, Johann Wolfgang von Goethe
  95. King Lear, William Shakespeare
  96. Dangerous Liaison, Pierre Choderlos de Laclos
  97. Journey to the End of the Night, Louis-Ferdinand Céline
  98. The Count of Monte Cristo, Alexandre Dumas
  99. Great Expectations, Charles Dickens
  100. Midnight’s Children, Salman Rushdie

9 thoughts on “An Introduction to The 100 Greatest Books Challenge: The What, Why, and How

  1. This is an admirable goal – some of these are definitely beasts and will be challenging, so good luck. Out of curiosity I counted and I’ve read 55 of these books. My personal favorites are Jane Eyre, Pride & Prejudice, Pilgrim’s Progress, Great Expectations, and To Kill a Mockingbird. I don’t envy you having to read Finnegan’s Wake & Ulysses by Joyce. I love book lists too. Have you heard of “1001 Books You Must Read Before You Die?” Many of these are on that list, so once you’ve finished these 100, you can jump to that one! Now I’m going to look and see if you written any reviews on the books you’ve completed!

    • Haha WOW you should do this challenge since you’re already halfway done! I have heard of the 1001 books list, actually, but I can’t decide whether I’ll ever be THAT ambitious. :) I thought Time had an interesting take, listing the 100 greatest books since Time was first published (around 1923, I think). I just finished The Lord of the Rings (YAWN) and I’m on The Sound and the Fury now (ABSTRACT), with The Canterbury Tales up next… so we’ll see how the adventure goes!

      • I will definitely keep this list in mind, but I believe life is too short to waste time reading books that are neither enjoyable nor profitable in some way, so I will probably skip a few of these. Better yet, I will wait until you read and publish a review on them and then decide!

  2. Pingback: The Greatest Books vs. The Most Beloved Books | The 100 Greatest Books Challenge

  3. I have a quick question – love the blog and the list. The list (top 100) you have looks different from the list the site currently has. Do you think they’ve refreshed it since you have started the project or did you do some rearranging of things out of preference.

    • Great question. It actually changes over time — my list is exactly how the top 100 appeared in 2011. Because the list is generated by feeding other “greatest books” lists into an algorithm (with some lists counting more than others), I’ve always assumed it changes as new “greatest books” lists are published/discovered.

      I did a post on this a while back in case you’re interested. The list has changed a lot more than I would’ve guessed in a small handful of years!

      • So helpful. Thank you!

        I have to say, the 2011 list is WAY more appealing than the 2015 list. I may stick to that one!

        About to embark on this journey myself.

        Have you finished and how long did it take you? I think I’m most nervous about Proust.

      • Haha. So many options to choose from!

        It’s been about 5 years, but I’m going strong at 93 books. I only read a few classics a year for the first couple years and then ramped up to around 25/year more recently. My best estimate for completion ATM is spring/summer next year.

        I’m working on Proust right now actually! I’m almost done with volume 3. His writing style isn’t as difficult as I was expecting — he’s actually easier to read than several other authors on the list — but the sheer length obviously demands considerable stamina.

  4. Pingback: #7 War and Peace, Leo Tolstoy | The 100 Greatest Books Challenge

Leave a comment